A Cat on the Couch

I am trying to encourage writers by participating in a group blog of sorts called Write, Blog, Connect check it out and join us!

The prompt will almost always be the title in my blog- just the way my brain works.

While I don’t think I will walk in and find a cat on my couch in the rest of my lifetime I do fantasize about it from time to time.  I always enjoyed a cat that like to cuddle just the right amount.  You know, don’t lay on me every moment but it is fine if you are on the couch when I get home and you stay to welcome me home.

When I was about 7 years old my sister had gotten married and moved to California.  Her mother-in-law had purchased a blue point siamese kitten.  She named her Molly and when Molly ran across her grand piano with claws out her husband says the kitten leaves this house now.

With much fuss and care, my mother finally agreed to allow me to have this absolutely adorable kitten!  We didn’t have a grand piano or much of anything that Molly would hurt.  My mother gave me a list of chores that came with her and warnings about what would end this match made in heaven.

It did not take Molly much time to warm even my mother’s heart.  She fast became one of our family members.  And while she was my cat and I had to take care of her, when I left home about 10 years later Mom refused to allow me to bring my cat.

So apparently Mom had come to enjoy coming home to find a cat on the couch as much as I fantasize about it.  But my reality is that while my kids were growing up we had lots of animals and yes many cats.  Each has a special memory in my old brain that is either heartwarming or joyful and some are both.  But now the kids are gone, so is the help with the chores.  So no more litter boxes for me to tend to.  I don’t miss that part.

We also are living through remodeling our home at this time.  Each fur ball I find and dislodge shocks me and I am grateful that we are down to only have two toy yorkies who only make small messes and rarely leave my husbands side, so I have one spot to clean up for my little family of 4!

Author: cymom2001

Loving life and living to serve My Lord and Savior anyway I can!! I have been married for 30+ years and we now have 11 grandchildren and 1 great grandson.

Leave a Reply

